LDSHE Article: How Home Schooling Helped My Career
Articles

How Homeschooling Helped My Career

By Elise Schulzke Von Scheel
Originally Posted in the May 2016 LDSHE Youth Newsletter
LDSHE Article: How Home Schooling Helped My Career
I was never built for school. I wanted to spend my days locked in my room furiously scribbling words onto a page.  I knew I would never be interested in the square root of pi or the molecular structure of water. Being homeschooled gave me the freedom to spend hours doing what I loved: writing.
LDSHE Article: How Home Schooling Helped My Career by Elise Schulzke Von Scheel

 

Because I could design my own schooling, I was able to devote my time to finding a career I was truly passionate about. I was in charge of my learning and my future, which many other kids in schools aren’t.  When I got to university, I didn’t feel unequipped.  Instead, the homeschooler skills of research, time management and a love of learning pushed me ahead of the pack.

Homeschooling taught me that the only limits I have are the ones I give myself. I chose a demanding program with a low acceptance rate because it was my passion.  I applied for a job that could have easily gone to someone more qualified because I wanted to challenge myself.

Where are things now? Thanks to homeschooling, I’m graduating from an honours program in journalism, as well as leading a team of writers for a social media start-up company.

Maybe you don’t want to be a writer. Maybe you want to be a scientist, an accountant, a musician. Homeschooling helped me be more creative, ambitious, driven and happy. Whatever your dream is, homeschooling will help you unlock the things you want out of your life.

Find more articles in our Resource Library

Leave a Reply

